Skip to content ↓

Terrington St Clement Community School

A traditional school with traditional values where

we aspire, succeed and thrive

EYFS Curriculum

Our EYFS provision is centred round the children’s all-round development according to the EYFS Framework – development of key skills such as writing, reading and mathematics, as well as essential social, personal, creative, communication and physical development goals.

We use our skills and expertise to create routines, build relationships, develop activities and resources in a rich learning environment which provide pupils with the opportunities and conditions to flourish in all aspects of their development. We provide balance across the areas of learning and look to identify each child’s specific needs, strengths and next steps, so that they can make excellent progress.

We will now follow an updated EYFS framework (September 2021) and will work towards the final assessment at the end of the Reception year, using the new Early Learning Goals (ELGs). These goals are short statements that teacher assess your child against at the end of the year. These statements can be on the document Early Learning Goals (ELGs) below.

You can read more about the EYFS Statutory framework by following this link

The EYFS curriculum is divided into 7 areas of learning, 3 Prime Areas of Learning and 4 Specific Areas of Learning. The 7 main areas of learning remain the same, but there are changes within each of the areas. 

The Prime Areas of Learning are:

  • Communication & Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development

The Specific Areas of Learning are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts & Design


You can find further information about the curriculum under the side tabs:

  • Prime Areas of Learning
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World